Hed_interior_faq

Frequently Asked Questions

Auto Insurance

What are the state minimums for coverage in Georgia?

Georgia auto insurance laws mandate that drivers maintain auto insurance coverage to lawfully operate on the state’s roadways. To comply with these auto insurance requirements, Georgia drivers must maintain bodily injury and property damage coverages of at least $25,000 per person, $50,000 per accident and $25,000 for property damage.

What is GEICS?

GEICS is the Georgia Electronic Insurance Compliance System. Georgia uses this system to monitor its residents’ compliance to the state’s financial responsibility laws. The state requires Georgia auto insurance carriers to send its policyholders’ information to the system. This information includes the policyholder’s name, listed drivers, vehicle identification numbers, coverages and policy inception and expiration dates. If a policy is cancelled, the insurance carrier will update the issued information to show the policy cancellation date. The cancellation notification is issued to GEICS regardless of the cancellation reason.

What is a premium?

A premium is the amount of money you are charged for insurance coverage. Usually this is in terms of a regular monthly payment for service, and depends on a number of variables, including:

*The extensiveness of your coverage. The more complete your coverage, the more you can expect to pay in premiums. *The size of your deductible. Generally speaking, the higher your deductible is, the lower your premium is, and vice versa. *Your driving history. If you have been in a number of costly accidents, the premiums will likely be higher.

What is a deductable?

The deductible is the amount of money for which you are responsible following an accident. Insurance companies usually include a deductible to lower the cost to them and to provide a certain amount of accountability.

The higher the deductible, the more expensive an accident is to you. For example, if you were in an accident that caused $4,000 of damage to your car and had a $1,000 deductible, you would pay for the first $1,000 of damage and the insurance company would pay the remaining $3,000. If you had a $3,000 deductible, the insurance company would only pay for $1,000 of the $4,000 damage.



« See all Frequently Asked Questions